User Management and Site Accessibility

If you have any problems or questions, please contact us at support@sourceaudio.com

Basic Access Settings

Set your site’s access settings to dictate what site visitors see, and whether they need to sign up for an account to use your site.

You have total control over the sign-up process for new user accounts on your site. There are three main settings you can adjust to tailor the new user sign-up process to your preference. They are found in your Admin Panel → Edit Site Settings → Access → Registration Options.

  1. Admin Approval: Does an Admin need to approve new users before their account is activated? Meaning, do you want to manually review all sign up requests and approve each new user before they can activate their account? If this box is unchecked, the new user will become active as soon as they register.
  2. Admin Notification: Should the Admin Contact (see notifications page for details on setting an Admin Contact) be notified when a new user attempts to sign up? This is recommended.
  3. Login Required: Is registration required in order for a user to access the site? Meaning, does a site visitor need to be logged in with an active account before they can view any part of your site (the exception being playlists sent with overriding permissions)? The question to ask yourself here is, “Do I want anyone to be able to search, audition and discover my music? Or do I want to limit my site users to only people I invite or approve?”.

In tandem to this setting, if you choose to engage Login Required you can check off the next box down to make just the homepage visible to non-users. The idea here is that you can share a bit about your library but still require people to sign up for an account before accessing the rest of the site.

Registration Fields

When a new user is signing up for an account they’ll be prompted to fill out and submit some basic information.

You can adjust exactly what information you request from your new user in your Admin Panel → Edit Site Settings → Registration Fields. Once the form is submitted, the user will either immediately be able to start using their account, or will need to wait for your approval, per your selection to setting #1 above.

Creating and Editing Users

You can create a new user or edit an existing one at any time from within your Admin Panel.

Go to Admin Panel → Manage Users to create a user. Provide their name, email address, a temporary password (they can change this later), their company name, and any notes that you want to associate to that users (e.g. “Met at NAB”). Then, select the Music Access Profile you want them to have (more on music access profiles further down). If this new user should be a site admin, adjust the drop down for Admin Permissions to read “Full Access”. If they are an admin, they will not be assigned a Music Access Profile, and will have full control over the site. If you have given a non-admin user the ability to download tracks via their Music Access Profile, then you can define the max number of downloads to allow to the user during any recurring time interval (daily, weekly, monthly, yearly). Click “Create Account” to finish.

To edit a user simply go to the “Edit or remove a user” tab in the same Manage Users section of the Admin Panel and begin typing the user’s name or email address to find them. Click on the user you wish to edit and you’ll see that you have the same options to configure as you did during the original account setup. You can delete individual users at the bottom of this page on the “Edit or remove a user” tab.

License Requests

When a user opts to license a track they’ll submit a License Request (unless you have e-commerce enabled).

A License Request submitted by a potential licensee provides the relevant project and contact information for you to get in touch and broker a usage license.

License Requests are submitted by clicking the “License Now” button displayed towards the lower right on any track’s detailed view. This button will prompt the user to fill out a License Request, which is then delivered to the email listed as your licensing contact in your Admin Panel → Edit Site Settings → General.

Enabling e-commerce allows you to create an automated checkout functionality. You can read more on this on the E-Commerce page.

Hiding Tracks

If you ever need to hide tracks on your site from non-admins, there are 3 ways to do so.

  1. The Private/Admin-Only setting: Each track has a Private/Admin-Only metadata field that contains a Yes or No value, set to No by default. This field can be adjusted on any tracks detailed view by clicking Edit Track Metadata, and then adjusting the corresponding value for Private just below the track’s waveform. The value can also be seen an any exported metadata spreadsheet as a field called Admin Only.
  2. Track release date: If a track’s release date is set to a date in the future the track will only be visible to admins until that date arrives. Once that date comes, the track will be pushed live and made accessible per your other settings. This metadata field can be adjusted in the same manner as the Private/Admin-Only field listed above.
  3. Music Access Profiles: See answer directly below.

Music Access Profiles

Music Access Profiles allow you to customize what each user on your site can play or download.

Check out the following video for a complete overview of the Music Access Profile tool, or read on below.

Your Music Access Profile settings are found in your Admin Panel → Manage Users → Music Access Profiles. They provide complete control over both visibility and download permissions on an album by album basis, as well as a specific user basis.

Every site starts out with two music access profiles by default: “Default Logged In” and “Default Logged Out”. Any logged in site visitor will be assigned the permissions outlined within the Default Logged Out, and any logged out site visitor will be assigned the permissions outlined within the Default Logged Out profile.

If you click the pen/paper icon next to a music access profile listing you can see the exact permissions of the material of your site for that profile. Click into a catalog to manage the labels within that catalog. Click into a label to manage the albums within that label. Content with neither the View/Play and Download boxes checked will not be visible on the site to anyone using that profile. Content with just the View/Play box checked can only be played but not downloaded, and content with both the View/Play and Download boxes checked can be played and downloaded by anyone on the site using that profile. If you make a change to music access profile, be sure to save your change in the bottom right.

If you’d like to create different custom permissions for different users on your site, just click to create a new music access profile. Name the music access profile, adjust the permissions, and save in the bottom right. Once that’s done, click the sub-tab to “Edit or Remove a User”, click a users listing to edit their information, and assign them a new music access profile from the Music Access Profile drop-down. Save your changes in the bottom right and the permissions of that profile will be applied to the user in question.

At any time you can head back to your music access profile listings and click the user icon next to the listing to see the different users that you have assigned that profile to.