Playlists

Overview

Playlists are an organizational tool for grouping and saving tracks within your user account. They can also be used for sending pitches or collaborating with other users.

Playlists can be created and utilized for your own personal organization; you can email playlists to your clients straight through your site; and you can share playlists with other users to collaborate on playlists together.

If you have any problems or questions, please contact us at support@sourceaudio.com

Creating a Playlist

Create a playlist by clicking New Playlist in your left-hand toolbar.

To create a new playlist, click the “New Playlist” button in your “My Playlists” module in the left column of your site– seen on all track, album, genre, and all other track list pages. If your browser window is on the smaller side, you may need to click the three-line icon at the top of the thin white bar along the left-hand side of your browser window to expand the left toolbar. Upon clicking to create a new playlist, you will see a pop-up asking you fill out some basic information for your playlist. Fill this out and click “Create”.

Once your playlist is created, you will see a yellow status bar appear across the top of the site telling you that you are adding/removing tracks from your playlist. Browse the site for the tracks and albums you want to add to your playlist and click the green “+” icon to add items to your playlist. When you’re done adding items click “Done” in the yellow playlist status bar at the top of the site to finish editing the playlist. That’s it - your first playlist has been created. To view this playlist, simply click its title in your “My Playlists” module and you will be taken to that playlist’s page.

Edit, Send, and Share Playlists

Edit, send, and share your playlist from the “More Actions” drop-down, as seen on the top right when viewing any playlist, which contains all of the tools to edit, send, and share your playlist.

Click Edit from the More Options drop down to edit the playlists info, or click the “Add/Remove” button to add or remove tracks from a playlist. Once you click “Add/Remove” you’ll see the yellow status bar appear across the top of the page telling you that you are adding/removing tracks from your playlist. Browse the site for the tracks and albums you want to add to your playlist and click the green “+” icon to add items to your playlist. When you’re done adding items click “Done” in the yellow playlist status bar at the top of the site to finish editing the playlist.

Click Email from the More Options drop down to send your playlist as either a SourceAudio generated email or a coded link. Once you click Email you’ll see a pop up. In the top half you can select the exact permissions you’d like to grant to the recipient. Once you’ve selected your desired permissions, you can click Send at the bottom of the pop-up to send a SourceAudio generated email to your recipient. Alternatively, you can copy the coded link from the bottom half of the playlist sending pop up to paste into your own email and send to your recipient yourself. If you use this coded link, permissions will be exactly what’s listed in the bottom half of the pop up. Sending material in this manner is always free and unlimited.

Click Share from the More Options drop down to share your playlist so that it appears in the recipients’ playlist module in their user account. Once you click Share from the More Options menu, just enter their information in the pop up and select whether you’d like the recipients to be able to edit on just view the playlist. Click to share, and that’s it!

Playlist Access

If a recipient doesn’t normally have access to the tracks in the playlist you sent or shared with them, you have options for how give it to them.

When you select to email a playlist (whether you send through a SourceAudio automated email or use the coded link provided) this will override your music access profile settings, and tracks that would normally be hidden via music access profile will be visible by anyone with that link. Emailed playlists will not override a track hidden with the “Private”/“Admin-Only” setting, nor will it override a track hidden because its release date is set in the future– those tracks will not appear in your emailed playlist.

When you select to share a playlist this will not override any music access profile settings, “Private”/“Admin-Only” setting, or a track hidden because its release date is set in the future– none of those tracks will appear in your recipients’ view of your shared playlist.

Creating a Cue Sheet

You can create a cue sheet from a playlist if you see the Cue Sheets module below the Playlists module in your left-hand toolbar.

Click the “More Actions” drop-down seen on the top right when viewing your playlist, and click Copy to Cue Sheet, to create a cue sheet containing those tracks.